Logo

 If you have previously registered for this event, please login below:
 Email
 LOGIN

Registration is required to attend this event. Please register now.
First Name*
Last Name*
Job Title*
Company*
Company Type
Address 1*
Address 2
City*
State*
Zip*
Country*
Email*
Work Phone*
Fax
Company URL
 You may contact me by e-mail.
You must have Javascript and Cookies enabled to access this webcast. Click here for Help.
 
Please enable Cookies in your browser before registering for the webcast.
 
*Denotes required.
 
REGISTER
Derivatives Regulatory Update: Have Regulators Reduced Risk to the U.S. Financial System?

Originally Aired: Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Time: 11:00 AM EDT | 3:00 pm GMT| 11:00 pm HKT
Duration: 60 minutes

Abstract:
In this webcast we will discuss the risks posed by derivatives, both cleared and uncleared, in the context of the current, still evolving regulatory landscape. Specific to cleared swaps, we will cover the mechanisms by which clearinghouses mitigate risks, and help clarify the debate over potential additional risk-mitigating measures. We will also discuss the possible expansion of the mandatory clearing regime to cover certain foreign exchange transactions (NDFs) in both the US and the EU. With regard to uncleared swaps, we will review the recently released margin proposals of the CFTC and the Federal banking agencies, as well as the ways these rules, if implemented, could arguably increase systemic risks rather than decreasing them.

Moderator:
David Greenough, SVP Media, GARP

Presenters:
James Schwartz, Of Counsel, Morrison & Foerster

Julian E. Hammar, Of Counsel, Morrison & Foerster

Michael A. Piracci, Director, PCB Compliance, BARCLAYS

Jason Silverstein, Executive Director and Associate General Counsel, CME Group