Simplifying Big Data with Hadoop

Wednesday, July 23, 2014 at 1 pm ET/noon CT/11 am MT/10 am PT/5 pm GMT

What’s the Big Deal with Big Data? And, more importantly, what is the business case for Big Data? In this session, we will focus on the fundamentals of Hadoop as it is the foundation for Big Data. We’ll talk the technology but also the business cases on what you can do and not do with Big Data.

Duration: 60 minutes (including audience Q&A)

Presenter: Denny Lee, Senior Director, Data Platform, Concur Technologies
Denny Lee is a senior director and startup entrepreneur with a specialty in leading, architecting, implementing, and delivering solutions to solve complex data problems. As a passionate technologist, he has worked with numerous companies to solve their immense analytics problems both on-premises and in the cloud. Notable examples of Lee's work include HDInsight for Windows Azure (Hadoop as a Service for Microsoft's Multi-Tenant Cloud) and Yahoo!’s 24TB SQL Server Analysis Services cube (Campaign Display Web Analytics solution).

Moderator: Michael Zeller, CEO of Zementis; Board of Directors, Software San Diego; Secretary/Treasurer, Executive Committee of ACM SIGKDD
Michael Zeller is the CEO of Zementis, a software company focused on the operational deployment of predictive analytics. Zementis was recognized by CIO Review as one of the "Top 20 most promising Big Data companies in 2013" and named "Cool Vendor in Data Science" by Gartner in 2014. Michael currently also serves on the Board of Directors of Software San Diego and as Secretary/Treasurer on the Executive Committee of ACM SIGKDD, which is the premier international organization for data mining researchers and practitioners from academia, industry, and government.


Offer for Non-Members and Past Members: Save 15% on ACM Professional Membership


ACM Members: Please use the same email address to register as the one on file with ACM.



 If you have previously registered for this event, please login below:
 Email
 LOGIN

Registration is required to attend this event. Please register now.
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
What's your ACM Member status?*
You must have Javascript and Cookies enabled to access this webcast. Click here for Help.
 
Please enable Cookies in your browser before registering for the webcast.
 
*Denotes required.
 
REGISTER