Registration is required to view this event live or on demand. Please complete the form or login below.

Crowdfunding Science: Appealing to the online community for research money

Event Date: January 29, 2013 12 p.m. Eastern, 9 a.m. Pacific, 5 p.m. GMT, 6 p.m. CEST

With federal and state funding for science on the downward trend, many young scientists are bypassing the grant writing process and appealing directly to the public via the Internet for money to support their research. Crowdfunding, as it is known, holds huge potential for scientists who can effectively capture the imagination of the public and get them to open their wallets in support of science.

In AAAS MemberCentral’s webinar "Appealing to the online community for research money", we’ll look at #SciFund Challange, a website that helps researchers get their projects funded by the public, and we’ll also hear from two scientists who successfully funded their projects via the crowd. We’ll find out what they learned along the way, share tips on how to reach your funding goal and give you an opportunity to ask the panelists questions.
If you have previously registered for this event, please login below:

First Name*
Last Name*
 I understand that by registering to watch this webinar I am agreeing to receive occasional e-mail from Science/AAAS and the sponsor of this webinar, about their respective programs and products. The webcast sponsor and Science/AAAS agree not to rent, sell, exchange, or give your information to any third party without permission*
You must have Javascript and Cookies enabled to access this webcast. Click here for Help.
Please enable Cookies in your browser before registering for the webcast.
*Denotes required.
Brought to you by the Science/AAAS Custom Publishing Office