Logo

Converting Helium Carrier Gas GC Methods to Nitrogen and Hydrogen

Event Date: February 12, 2013
Time: 11:00 a.m. EST / 10:00 a.m. CST / 8:00 a.m. PST / 16:00 GMT

Overview:

Helium has been the most widely used carrier gas for capillary GC applications. However, increases in worldwide helium demand combined with shortages in helium availability have many laboratories facing cutbacks in supply and higher prices. To help address laboratory concerns about helium price and availability Agilent Technologies has introduced a new accessory that helps gas chromatographers greatly reduce helium consumption.

Compared to change to an alternate carrier gas, helium conservation eliminates the need for method revalidation; a major hurdle faced by laboratories that switch to alternative carrier gases. This presentation will introduce the new conservation tool, describe its operation, and provide examples of cost savings under typical operating conditions.

This presentation will also discuss the merits of carrier gas alternatives and approaches to converting existing helium GC methods to the use of nitrogen or hydrogen. Examples will be shown using ASTM and CEN industry standard methods.
Featured Speaker

James McCurry, PhD, Senior Application Chemist, Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Moderator

Stephen K. Ritter, Ph.D., Senior Correspondent, C&EN

 If you have previously registered for this event, please login below:
 Email
 LOGIN

Registration is required to attend this event. Please register now.
First Name*
Last Name*
Company*
Job Title*
Address 1*
Address 2
City*
State/Province*
Postal Code*
Country*
Email*
Confirm Email address*
Phone
Are you an ACS member?*
At your laboratory are you responsible for (Please select all that apply):*GC method development
GC system operation
GC system maintenance
N/A
Which of the following has your company received (Please select all that apply):*Notification about reduced availability of helium from your supplier.
Disruption of helium supply from your supplier.
Increased price for helium deliveries
N/A
Does your organization have short-term demand for applications adapted to carrier gases other than helium?*
Do you approve purchases?*
Do you specify equipment for purchase?*
Are you interested in receiving email notifications from C&EN Webinars about webinars in the following markets (choose all that apply):*Materials Science
Pharma/Life Sciences
Analytical Instruments
Chemical Reagents
No Thanks
 I understand that by registering for this webinar I am agreeing to receive communication from C&EN and the sponsor in order to inform me of products, services, and other opportunities which may be of interest. C&EN and sponsor agree not to rent, sell, exchange, or give your information to any third party without permission. *
You must have Javascript and Cookies enabled to access this webcast. Click here for Help.
 
Please enable Cookies in your browser before registering for the webcast.
 
*Denotes required.
 
REGISTER